To Be Continued 3

Defining, Producing, Performing, Consuming, and Theorizing Serials and Adaptations

A Zoom Symposium, 14–15 September 2023

Organizers: Julie Grossman (Le Moyne College), Thomas Leitch (University of Delaware), Iain Robert Smith (King's College), Constantine Verevis (Monash University)

This two-day Zoom symposium, hosted by the **University of Delaware**, brings scholars of adaptation and seriality into an open conversation with one another, not by recommending a single master set of terms or procedures for adaptation and seriality, still less by seeking to absorb either one of them into the other, but rather by raising questions of common concern to both fields and encouraging practitioners in both to share their views and facilitate collaboration.

The symposium features four \times 75-minute roundtables, held over two days, 14–15 September 2023.

Each roundtable begins with brief presentations of 5-7 minutes by scholars of seriality and adaptation, followed by a discussion in which both panelists and attendees are invited to participate.

Roundtable 1. GENRE

September 14, 10.00-11.30am EDT

Megen de Bruin-Molé (U Southampton) İlyas Deniz Çınar (Istanbul Istinye U) David Scott Diffrient (Colorado State U) Kevin Flanagan (George Mason U) Mikal Gaines (MCPHS Boston) Lucyna Krawczyk-Żywko (U Warsaw) Christina Wilkins (U Birmingham)

Chairperson: Iain Robert Smith

Roundtable 2. FORM

September 14, 12.00-1.30pm EDT

Ryan Borochovitz (U Toronto)
Claudia Calhoun (Hunter College, CUNY)
Nick Davie (U Nottingham)
Kamilla Elliott (Lancaster U)
Lynn Kozak (McGill U)
Sanna McGregor (U Groningen)
Teresa Ramoni (Rutgers U)

Chairperson: Thomas Leitch

Roundtable 3. REPRESENTATION

September 15, 10.00-11.30am EDT

Louise Coopey (U Birmingham)
Philippa Gates (Wilfrid Laurier U)
Pete Kunze (Tulane U)
Ceci Moffett (U Wisconsin, Madison)
Nelly Strehlau (Nicolaus Copernicus U)
Kristen Warner (Cornell U)
Maryam Zehra (Jamia Millia Islamia)

Chairperson: Julie Grossman

Roundtable 4. RECEPTION

September 15, 12.00-1.30pm EDT

Thomas Britt (George Mason U)
Atalya De Cock (Ghent U)
James Fleury (Washington U, St. Louis)
Madeleine Hunter (U Cambridge)
Maria Juko (Hamburg U)
Alfred Martin (U Iowa)
Mike Phillips (Southern Illinois U)

Chairperson: Constantine Verevis

REGISTRATION: Please register using this link:

Upon registration, you will be sent the Zoom details.

Note: When you register, be sure to set the start TIME (10.00 a.m. EDT) to your local time zone.

For more details contact: con.verevis@monash.edu